Hypotonie ist von Bedeutung
Intraoperative Hypotonie und
Ergebnisse nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen
Outcome-Parameter

Studien zeigen Zusammenhänge auf zwischen intraoperativer Hypotonie und dem Risiko für das Auftreten eines akuten Nierenversagens (AKI) und Myokardinfarkt 1-3 — dem Hauptgrund für postoperative Mortalität.1

Anhaltende Exposition unter dem Schwellenwert für den mittleren arteriellen Blutdruck (MAP) von 65 mmHg und niedriger sind mit einem erhöhten Risiko für das Auftreten von Myokardinfarkt und ANV nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen assoziiert.1

Outcome-Parameter

Studien zeigen auch ein erhöhtes Mortalitätsrisiko auf im Zusammenhang mit Hypotonie nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen.4,5

Falls post-operative Mortalität eine eigene Kategorie wäre, dann würde es sich um die dritthäufigste Todesursache in den Vereinigten Staaten handeln.6

Ergebnisse der Hypotonie-Studie
deuten auf ein erhöhtes Risiko hin

Höhepunkte aus 2017 Salmasi, et al.1

Publikation in "Anesthesiology": „Relationship Between Intraoperative Hypotension, Defined by Either Reduction From Baseline or Absolute Thresholds, and Acute Kidney and Myocardial Injury After Noncardiac Surgery“

Eine Studie der Cleveland Clinic legt den Schluss nahe, dass eine intraoperative Hypotonie assoziiert ist mit klinischen Ergebnissen nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen.

Ein mittlerer arterieller Blutdruck (MAP) unterhalb einer absoluten Schwelle von 65 mmHg und weniger oder einer relativen Schwelle von 20 % oder mehr unterhalb der Baseline wurde progressiv sowohl mit einem Myokardinfarkt als auch mit akutem Nierenversagen (AKI) in Verbindung gebracht. Unabhängig von der Schwelle wurde ein anhaltender verringerter MAD mit einem erhöhten Risiko assoziiert.

Anhand der komparativen Aussagekraft der absoluten und relativen MAP-Schwellenwerte konnte zwischen Patienten mit oder ohne Myokardinfarkt oder Nierenversagen unterschieden werden. Diese Ergebnisse legen nahe, dass das Risiko für das Auftreten eines AKI und Myokardinfarkts möglicherweise reduziert ist, wenn intraoperativ ein MAP höher als 65 mmHg aufrechterhalten wird.

Niedrigste Schwellenwerte für den mittleren arteriellen Blutdruck (MAD) bei Myokardinfarkt
nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen (MINS)

Univariate und multivariate Beziehung zwischen MINS und absoluten und relativen niedrigsten MAD-Schwellen. (A) und (C): Geschätzte Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Auftreten eines MINS stammt aus einem univariaten beweglichen Fenster mit einer Breite von 10 % Daten; (B) und (D) aus einer multivariaten logistischen Regression nach eingeschränkter kubischer Spline-Glättung mit drei Grad und Knoten an der 10., 50. und 90. Perzentile einer bestimmten Expositionsvariablen. Multivariate Modelle sind in nachstehender Tabelle um Kovariate bereinigt. (A) und (B) zeigen einen Änderungspunkt (starker Anstieg und dann Abflachung) um 65 mmHg, während 20 % kein Änderungspunkt in (C) und (D) waren.

Niedrigste Schwellenwerte für den mittleren arteriellen Blutdruck (MAD) für akutes Nierenversagen (ANV) nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen

Univariate und multivariate Beziehung zwischen ANV und absoluten und relativen niedrigsten MAD-Schwellen. (A) und (C) Geschätzte Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Auftreten eines ANV stammt aus einem univariaten beweglichen Fenster mit einer Breite von 10 % Daten; (B) und (D) aus einer multivariaten logistischen Regression nach eingeschränkter kubischer Spline-Glättung mit drei Grad und Knoten an der 10., 50. und 90. Perzentile einer bestimmten Expositionsvariablen. (A) und (B) zeigen einen Änderungspunkt (starker Anstieg und dann Abflachung) um 65 mmHg, während 20 % kein Änderungspunkt in (C) und (D) waren.

MINS
ANV
MINS

Niedrigste Schwellenwerte für den mittleren arteriellen Blutdruck (MAD) für akutes Nierenversagen (ANV) nach nicht kardiochirurgischen Eingriffen

Univariate und multivariate Beziehung zwischen ANV und absoluten und relativen niedrigsten MAD-Schwellen. (A) und (C) Geschätzte Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Auftreten eines ANV stammt aus einem univariaten beweglichen Fenster mit einer Breite von 10 % Daten; (B) und (D) aus einer multivariaten logistischen Regression nach eingeschränkter kubischer Spline-Glättung mit drei Grad und Knoten an der 10., 50. und 90. Perzentile einer bestimmten Expositionsvariablen. (A) und (B) zeigen einen Änderungspunkt (starker Anstieg und dann Abflachung) um 65 mmHg, während 20 % kein Änderungspunkt in (C) und (D) waren.

ANV

Weitere Literatur

Physiologie der Perfusion:
Druck und Fluss
Adäquate Perfusion

Voraussetzung für eine adäquate Perfusion sind adäquater arterieller Blutdruck und adäquates Herzzeitvolumen (HZV)

Herzzeitvolumen

Herzzeitvolumen (HZV) =
Schlagvolumen × Herzfrequenz

Die Flusskomponente der Perfusion managen

Es spielt eine Rolle wie Sie mit Volumen umgehen

Preload

Vorlast: Spannung der Herzmuskelfasern am Ende der Diastole im Zusammenhang mit dem Volumen in der Herzkammer

Stroke Volume

Schlagvolumen (SV): Blutvolumen, das bei jedem Herzschlag aus der linken Herzkammer gepumpt wird

Beim Management der Perfusion kann das Schlagvolumen mithilfe der Frank-Starling-Kurve des Patienten optimiert werden – Diagramm zum Vergleich von Schlagvolumen (SV) und Vorlast.

Stroke volume graph

Die Position des Patienten auf seiner Frank-Starling-Kurve kann durch Messung von ∆SV als Folge einer Veränderung der Vorlast bestimmt werden; hierzu wird Folgendes gemessen:

Belastungstest durch Bolusgabe

Bolus fluid challenge

Passives Anheben der Beine

Passive leg raise (PLR)

Zusätzlich hat sich Schlagvolumenvariation (SVV) als ein sensitiver und spezifischer Indikator für die Vorlast-Reagibilität beim Perfusionsmanagement erwiesen. Der dynamische Parameter SVV ist ein präziser Indikator der Flüssigkeitsreagibilität unter Belastungsbedingungen, die durch eine mechanische Beatmung induziert werden.7,8,9

Stroke volume graph

Weitere Informationen zum Umgang mit Flüssigkeiten mit erweiterten Parametern finden Sie auf unserer Seite zum Umgang mit Flüssigkeiten und zur zielgerichteten perioperativen Therapie

Hier Klicken

VERRINGERUNG VON SCHWANKUNGEN MITHILFE DER
PERIOPERATIVEN ZIELGERICHTETEN THERAPIE (PGDT)

PGDT

Bei PGDT handelt es sich um ein Behandlungsprotokoll, bei dem mithilfe von dynamischen und flussbasierten Parametern die entsprechenden Entscheidungen in Bezug auf das Volumenmanagement (z. B. Flüssigkeit nur bei Bedarf) getroffen werden sollen.7

PGDT kann in einem einzelnen Verfahren oder als Teil einer größeren Initiative wie z. B. im Rahmen von ERAS (Enhanced Recovery After Surgery) implementiert werden.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Volume Management und PGDT

Hier Klicken

Edwards Klinische Weiterbildung
Weiterbildung

Hämodynamische Schulung für nachhaltigen klinischen Fortschritt

Auf der Basis eines langfristigen Engagements zur Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung in Chirurgie und Intensivmedizin können Sie bei Edwards Klinische Weiterbildung genau die Leistungen abrufen, die Ihrem individuellen Schulungsbedarf entsprechen. Dafür werden stets aktuelle Ressourcen und Hilfsmittel bereitgestellt, die Sie kontinuierlich bei der Bewältigung der klinischen Herausforderungen von heute und morgen unterstützen.

Weitere Informationen zur Weiterbildung.

Hier starten. Jetzt starten.

Wenn Sie zusätzliche Informationen und Weiterbildungsressourcen benötigen, geben Sie bitte nachstehend Ihre Informationen ein, und ein Vertriebsmitarbeiter von Edwards wird in Kürze mit Ihnen Kontakt aufnehmen.

Referenzen
  1. Salmasi, V., Maheshwari, K., Yang, G., Mascha, E.J., Singh, A., Sessler, D.I., & Kurz, A. (2017). Relationship between intraoperative hypotension, defined by either reduction from baseline or absolute thresholds, and acute kidney injury and myocardial injury. Anesthesiology, 126(1), 47-65.
  2. Sun, L.Y., Wijeysundera, D.N., Tait, G.A., & Beattie, W.S. (2015). Association of Intraoperative Hypotension with Acute Kidney Injury after Elective Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(3), 515-523.
  3. Walsh, M., Devereaux, P.J., Garg, A.X., Kurz, A., Turan, A., Rodseth, R.N., Cywinski, J., Thabane, L., &Sessler, D.I. (2013). Relationship between Intraoperative Mean Arterial Pressure and Clinical Outcomes after Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 119(3), 507-515.
  4. Mascha, E.J., Yang, D., Weiss, S., & Sessler, D.I. (2015). Intraoperative Mean Arterial Pressure Variability and 30-day Mortality in Patients Having Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(1), 79-91.
  5. Monk, T.G., Bronsert, M.R., Henderson, W.G., Mangione, M.P., Sum-Ping, S.T.J., Bentt, D.R., Nguyen, J.D., Richman, J.S., Meguid, R.A., Hammermeister, K.A., (2015). Association between Intraoperative Hypotension and Hypertension and 30-day Postoperative Mortality in Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(2), 307-319.
  6. Devereaux, P.J., Sessler, D.I., (2015). Cardiac Complications in Patients Undergoing Major Noncardiac Surgery, N Engl J Med, 373(23), 2258-2269.
  7. Peng, K., Li, J., Cheng, H., Ji, FH. (2014) Goal-directed fluid therapy based on stroke volume variations improves fluid management and gastrointestinal perfusion in patients undergoing major orthopedic surgery. Medical Principles and Practice, 23(5), 413-20.
  8. Berkenstadt, H., et al. (2001) Stroke Volume Variation as a Predictor of Fluid Responsiveness in Patients Undergoing Brain Surgery. Anesthesia & Analgesia, 92, 984-9.
  9. Michard, F., Mountford, W., Krukas, M., Ernst, F., Fogel, S. (2015) Potential return on investment for implementation of perioperative goal-directed fluid therapy in major surgery: a nationwide database study. Perioperative Medicine, 4,11.

Please update your browserClose this window

Please update to a current version of your preferred browser, this site will perform effectively on the following:

Unable to update your browser?

If you are on a computer, that is maintained by an admin and you cannot install a new browser, ask your admin about it. If you can't change your browser because of compatibility issues, think about installing a second browser for browsing and keep this old one for compatibility

hypotension matters
Intraoperative hypotension and
outcomes after noncardiac surgery
outcomes

Recent studies show associations between intraoperative hypotension and increased risk of acute kidney injury (AKI) and myocardial injury 1-3 — the leading cause of post-operative mortality within 30 days after surgery.1

Prolonged exposures below mean arterial pressure (MAP) thresholds of 65 mmHg are associated with increased risk of myocardial injury and AKI after noncardiac surgery.1

outcomes

Studies also show an increased risk of mortality associated with hypotension after noncardiac surgery.4,5

If it were considered its own category, post-operative mortality would be the third leading cause of death in the United States.6

Hypotension study findings
point to increased risk

Highlights from 2017 Salmasi, et al.1

Publication in Anesthesiology: “Relationship Between Intraoperative Hypotension, Defined by Either Reduction From Baseline or Absolute Thresholds, and Acute Kidney and Myocardial Injury After Noncardiac Surgery”

In a study conducted by the Cleveland Clinic, researchers found that intraoperative hypotension is associated with clinical outcomes after noncardiac surgery.

Mean arterial pressure (MAP) below absolute thresholds of 65 mmHg or relative thresholds of 20% or more below baseline were progressively related to both myocardial and acute kidney injury (AKI). At any given threshold, prolonged exposure was associated with increased odds.

Absolute and relative MAP thresholds had comparable ability to discriminate patients with myocardial or kidney injury from those without. The results suggest that maintaining intraoperative MAP greater than 65 mmHg may reduce the risk of AKI and myocardial injury.

Lowest mean arterial pressure (MAP) thresholds for myocardial injury
after noncardiac surgery (MINS)

Univariable and multivariable relationship between MINS and absolute and relative lowest MAP thresholds. (A) and (C) Estimated probability of MINS were from the univariable moving-window with the width of 10% data; (B) and (D) were from multivariable logistic regression smoothed by restricted cubic spline with three degrees and knots at 10th, 50th, and 90th percentiles of given exposure variable. Multivariable models adjusted for covariates in the table below. (A) and (B) show that there was a change point (i.e., decreases steeply up and then flattens) around 65 mmHg, but 20% was not a change point from (C) and (D).

Lowest mean arterial pressure (MAP) thresholds for acute kidney injury (AKI) after noncardiac surgery

Univariable and multivariable relationship between AKI and absolute and relative lowest MAP thresholds. (A) and (C) Estimated probability of AKI were from the univariable moving-window with the width of 10% data; (B) and (D) were from multivariable logistic regression smoothed by restricted cubic spline with three degrees and knots at 10th, 50th, and 90th percentiles of given exposure variable. (A) and (B) show that there was a change point (i.e., decreases steeply up and then flattens) around 65 mmHg, but 20% was not a change point from (C) and (D).

MINS
AKI
MINS

Lowest mean arterial pressure (MAP) thresholds for acute kidney injury (AKI) after noncardiac surgery

Univariable and multivariable relationship between AKI and absolute and relative lowest MAP thresholds. (A) and (C) Estimated probability of AKI were from the univariable moving-window with the width of 10% data; (B) and (D) were from multivariable logistic regression smoothed by restricted cubic spline with three degrees and knots at 10th, 50th, and 90th percentiles of given exposure variable. (A) and (B) show that there was a change point (i.e., decreases steeply up and then flattens) around 65 mmHg, but 20% was not a change point from (C) and (D).

AKI

Additional Research Findings

Physiology of perfusion:
pressure and flow
adequate perfusion

Adequate perfusion requires adequate arterial pressure and cardiac output (CO)

cardiac output

Cardiac Output (CO) =
Stroke Volume x Heart Rate

Managing the flow component of perfusion

How you manage volume matters

Preload

Preload: the tension of myocardial fibers at the end of diastole, as a result of volume in the ventricle

Stroke Volume

Stroke Volume (SV): volume of blood pumped from the left ventricle per heartbeat

When managing perfusion, stroke volume can be “optimized” using the patient’s own Frank-Starling curve — a plot of stroke volume (SV) vs. preload.

Stroke volume graph

The patients location on his or her Frank-Starling curve can be determined by measuring ∆SV in response to change in preload using:

Bolus fluid challenge

Bolus fluid challenge

Passive leg raise (PLR)

Passive leg raise (PLR)

Additionally, stroke volume variation (SVV) has been proven to be a highly sensitive and specific indicator for preload responsiveness when managing volume. As a dynamic parameter, SVV has been shown to be an accurate predictor of fluid responsiveness in loading conditions induced by mechanical ventilation.7,8,9

Stroke volume graph

To learn more about managing fluid with advanced parameters, visit our page on fluid management and perioperative goal directed therapy

Click Here

Reducing fluid variability using Perioperative
Goal-Directed Therapy (PGDT)

PGDT

PGDT is a treatment protocol using dynamic and flow-based parameters with the objective of making the appropriate volume management decisions (e.g. fluid only when needed).7

PGDT can be implemented in a single procedure or as part of a larger initiative such as Enhanced Recovery After Surgery pathways.

To learn more about volume management and PGDT,

Click Here

Edwards clinical education
education

Hemodynamic education for sustained clinical advancement

With a long-term commitment to improving the quality of care for surgical and critical care patients through education, Edwards Clinical Education meets you no matter where you are in the learning process — with a continuum of resources and tools that continuously support you as you solve the clinical challenges facing you today, and in the future.

For more educational information.

Start here. Start now.

For additional information and educational resources please provide your information below, and an Edwards representative will contact you shortly.


References

  1. Salmasi, V., Maheshwari, K., Yang, G., Mascha, E.J., Singh, A., Sessler, D.I., & Kurz, A. (2017). Relationship between intraoperative hypotension, defined by either reduction from baseline or absolute thresholds, and acute kidney injury and myocardial injury. Anesthesiology, 126(1), 47-65.
  2. Sun, L.Y., Wijeysundera, D.N., Tait, G.A., & Beattie, W.S. (2015). Association of Intraoperative Hypotension with Acute Kidney Injury after Elective Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(3), 515-523.
  3. Walsh, M., Devereaux, P.J., Garg, A.X., Kurz, A., Turan, A., Rodseth, R.N., Cywinski, J., Thabane, L., & Sessler, D.I. (2013). Relationship between Intraoperative Mean Arterial Pressure and Clinical Outcomes after Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 119(3), 507-515.
  4. Mascha, E.J., Yang, D., Weiss, S., & Sessler, D.I. (2015). Intraoperative Mean Arterial Pressure Variability and 30-day Mortality in Patients Having Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(1), 79-91.
  5. Monk, T.G., Bronsert, M.R., Henderson, W.G., Mangione, M.P., Sum-Ping, S.T.J., Bentt, D.R., Nguyen, J.D., Richman, J.S., Meguid, R.A., Hammermeister, K.A., (2015). Association between Intraoperative Hypotension and Hypertension and 30-day Postoperative Mortality in Noncardiac Surgery. Anesthesiology, 123(2), 307-319.
  6. Devereaux, P.J., Sessler, D.I., (2015). Cardiac Complications in Patients Undergoing Major Noncardiac Surgery, N Engl J Med, 373(23), 2258-2269.
  7. Peng, K., Li, J., Cheng, H., Ji, FH. (2014) Goal-directed fluid therapy based on stroke volume variations improves fluid management and gastrointestinal perfusion in patients undergoing major orthopedic surgery. Medical Principles and Practice, 23(5), 413-20.
  8. Berkenstadt, H., et al. (2001) Stroke Volume Variation as a Predictor of Fluid Responsiveness in Patients Undergoing Brain Surgery. Anesthesia & Analgesia, 92, 984-9
  9. Michard, F., Mountford, W., Krukas, M., Ernst, F., Fogel, S. (2015) Potential return on investment for implementation of perioperative goal-directed fluid therapy in major surgery: a nationwide database study. Perioperative Medicine, 4, 11.

Please update your browser

Please update to a current version of your preferred browser, this site will perform effectively on the following:

Unable to update your browser?

If you are on a computer, that is maintained by an admin and you cannot install a new browser, ask your admin about it. If you can't change your browser because of compatibility issues, think about installing a second browser for browsing and keep this old one for compatibility